Image description

St. Anne's Church, Dunbar

"We, who are many, are one body in Christ"

Romans, chapter 12 verse 5

About Us



Our church is situated in the harbour town of Dunbar, in the beautiful county of East Lothian.

We are a country parish serving not only Dunbar but the surrounding villages.

United Congregations

St Anne's is a charge of the Scottish Episcopal Church, part of the Anglican Communion. On 29 November 2015, the congregation united with the Dunbar Methodist Church to form one unified presence serving Dunbar and district. We are part of the Forth Valley Methodist Circuit and regularly enjoy preachers from the circuit.


Read more about this union on page 12 of The Edge, Summer 2016.

We work with other churches through Dunbar Churches Together.

UN Peace Pole

The church garden on the High Street contains a UN Peace Pole, with the message "May Peace Prevail on Earth". We invite you to say a prayer for peace as you walk by.


Disabled Facilities

We have a public address system with loop, ramps for wheelchair access, and a disabled toilet.

St Anne’s has recently completed a programme of repair, restoration and adaptation to provide a more flexible and accessible venue, including provision of an additional disabled toilet. See: Building Improvements. 

Image description

Rector: Diana Hall

Image description

Diana joined us on 15 July 2017 following her training at the University of Edinburgh and period as a curate in St. Andrews. Originally from Duns in Berwickshire, she worked as a solicitor in Edinburgh before her training for the ministry. She shares the Rectory with Cuthbert the cat and Oswald & Ebbe, sibling spaniels.

Members of the Vestry

In the Scottish Episcopal Church, the vestry is responsible for the church buildings, finance, and legal compliance, and works with the clergy to support the spiritual life of the congregation. Our current vestry comprises:

Rev. Diana Hall (Chairperson)

Juliette Fleming (Secretary)

Alan Dickerson (Treasurer)

Liz Gordon

Val Hale

Mike Ling

Liz Mitchell
John Rea
Mike Shaw